Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle
District Home
Academics/Programs » California State Standards

California State Standards

Education standards describe what students in each grade should know and be able to do in each subject area.  The State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten though high school.  Since 2010, California and 44 other states have adopted the same standards for English and math.  These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).  Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. 

The Nevada City School District is currently engaging in a systemic conversation regarding the implementation of the CCSS at each school site. This effort involves teachers, staff, students, parents, and community members.

CA Common Core State Standards Content Standards Website Resource SCOE

CA English Language Arts & Literacy Common Core Standards K-12

Common Core State Standards Initiative 

Frequently Asked Questions

Three Minute Video Common Core State Standards

What are the Common Core State Standards?

NCSD Math Support (CCSS)

Teacher Support (CCSS)